How Does It Feel To Be Shot In The Face

Officer Hurton Shooting Survivor

Officer Hurton Shooting Survivor

 

Your at a party, or meet someone. The standard salutation “so what do you do for a living”. You look at them and think maybe I should lie and say I’m a bus driver. But what the  heck I am who I am, Im a Police Officer.

Really they state ” So What is it like to be a cop the typical over broad question incapable of being answered.  The next is did you ever shoot anyone?  All with a communicate giddy voyeuristic intent.  And than the next question is their personal subjective “bad cop ” story where they did something wrong got a ticket or arrested, but it wasn’t really their fault. But even if it was the real bad guy was that  Officer, oh he or she  was so  mean, rude, oppressive, unfair, on an ego trip, or selected them because of their race, religion ethnicity, sexual orientation, gender or some political bumper sticker that the “cop” didn’t like.

The same folks will never start a conversation with a physican with;  ” hey doc did you ever kill anyone”, or a Teacher do you like failing students?  Similarly when a physican doesnt accept your insurance provider they are never accused of medical profiling, or a teacher who fails a student is not rarely if ever accused of not caring about students.   It’s the conduct of the person that matters not their body composition.

So here is the question not asked how does if feel to chase a robber.  A thug with a gun.

Answer, you hope you don’t get shot.

How does it feel to be shot in the face?  Officer Hurton of the Framinham Police Answers . ( http://www.framinghamma.gov/index.aspx?nid=135)

“There wasn’t much pain in the beginning. I think it was adrenalin. It stung — it stung really bad,” Hurton said.

Hurton was hit twice in the face by 40-caliber slugs — one hit his teeth, the other was embedded in his tongue.

“One of them grazed me and hit my ear. The other one went in my dimple, knocked out my back teeth. It shattered my jaw, and stopped in my neck near the artery and trachea. Doctors couldn’t explain why it stopped and didn’t do more damage to my throat,” Hurton said.

The bullet came within a millimeter of the carotid artery.

“It was dark. I was off by myself away from my car. I was concerned if I fell down and couldn’t get up, they might not find me in time. They would find me, but I didn’t know how much time I had. So, I had to make it back to the street, to the car, so somebody could find me,” Hurton said.

With blood pouring out of the facial wounds and injuries to both hands, Hurton held on. Other officers swarmed into arrest a first suspect and a second suspect was picked up later.

Hurton, 32, is recovering faster than doctors expected, and he is eager to get back on the streets ” Copyright 2009 by TheBostonChannel.com.

 

Former President and NYPD Commisioner Teddy Roosevelt

Former President and NYPD Commisioner Teddy Roosevelt

Officer Hurton represents Officer’s all over the nation. Former President , Rough Rider and NYPD Police Commisoner Teddy Roosevelt http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Theodore_Roosevelt said it best when discussing courage .

It is not the critic who counts, not the man who points out how the strong man stumbled, or where the doer of deeds could have done better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood, who strives valiantly, who errs and comes short again and again, who knows the great enthusiasms, the great devotions, and spends himself in a worthy cause, who at best knows achievement and who at the worst if he fails at least fails while daring greatly so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who know neither victory nor defeat.”

The mass media rarely focus on the heroic cops or brave men and women  who are now courageously serving in the Middle East as I write. And I’m sure Officer Hurton agrees ” the cops in the arena” don’t care what the media thinks, but to all  of us in the arena ” We salute him” and wish him well in his recovery.

From a speech given in Paris at the Sorbonne in 1910

One response to “How Does It Feel To Be Shot In The Face

  1. Well I can definitively say that being involved in a car accident (as I was a month ago) is less cringe-inducing than being shot in the face.

    I think I jumped 2 feet into the air when I read this post.

Leave a Reply

